Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

“The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA) was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or demonstrated eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. It is NESA’s highest honor.

Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination.

Since its establishment in 1969, the DESA has gained prominent standing among Scouting recognitions. Previous recipients include President Gerald R. Ford, several governors and senators, military flag officers, university presidents, chief executive officers of Fortune 500 companies, and nationally known lawyers, educators, and doctors.” – National Eagle Scout Association (NESA)

DESA Recipients from Indian Waters Council

1980Francis Herndon
1980George Fant **
1985James Leventis
1999Stanhope Spears
2014Charles Bradley Hutto

** George Fant is also the recipient of the NESA Distinguished Service Award (5/23/1986). At the time of this writing (2022), fewer than 50 people have received this honor since its inception in 1976. Mr. Fant served as Southeast Region NESA Chairman.

DESA Recipients from Pee Dee Area Council

1999J. Bruce Barragan
2000W. Henry Johnson, Jr.
2001C. Edward Floyd, M.D. 

NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) was established during the BSA’s 100th Anniversary in 2010 with the first recipient to receive the award a year later. The award was created to recognize notable Eagle Scouts who had either performed distinguished service at the local, state, or regional level or who were known nationally, but had not yet met the 25-year tenure as an Eagle for the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award. Often, worthy candidates for the NOESA have inspired others through their actions and have devoted a lifetime to their profession, avocation, community, and beliefs, at great sacrifice to themselves and their families.

The NOESA has gained prominent standing among Scouting recognitions. Previous recipients include famous authors, explorers, television personalities, military flag officers, scientists, government officials, and prominent businessmen.

The selection of recipients is made by the local council NESA committee (which may utilize a NESA awards sub-committee), Scout executive, and council president. Each recipient’s actions and accomplishments should elevate the stature of Eagle Scouts in the public eye. Therefore, not all nominations are acted upon, and a substantial percentage of nominations are declined.

Following is the list of all past recipients from the Indian Waters Council and the Pee Dee Area Council. On August 1, 2022, the Indian Waters Council and Pee Dee Area Councils merged together to form a new, larger Indian Waters Council.

To nominate a deserving Eagle Scout for the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award, visit the Indian Waters Council awards portal found HERE.

NOESA Recipients from Indian Waters Council

2011Rev. John W. Culp
2012Brad Lawing
2013Charles Bradley Hutto
2016Robert Stewart
2016Henry “Tripp” Clark III
2020Jay Koon
2020Bill Griffin
2020Robert Sears
2021Smitty Harrison
2021Ed Helms
2021Stan Haines
2022Judge Joe Anderson
2022Gus Dixon
2023George Faller
2023Vince Van Brunt
2023Robbie Wiggs
2024Mikee Johnson
2024Paul McCormack
2024Grant Phillips

NOESA Recipients from Pee Dee Area Council

2013Sinclair Porter Stewart, II
2014Dr. Barry Webb Jones, Jr.
2014Richard C. Curran
2015William Brooks Tyson, III
2015Bobby Hall Barnes
2016James W. McIlrath
2016Timothy W. Fisher
2017Edward C. Suggs, Jr.
2017Alan D. Clemmons
2018Wade H. Dickens
2018Neal E. Sarvis
2019Walter H. Barefoot
2019Laurence H. Green
2020Robert L. Colones
2020Dr. Joseph E. Harlan
2021Timothy F. Norwood
2021Philip A. Bethune
2022J. D. Chaplin
2022David S. Warner