There are three awards given at different levels of Scouting as recognition for extraordinary service, known as the Silver Awards. These awards are the Silver Beaver at the Council Level, The Silver Antelope at the Region or Territory Level, and the Silver Buffalo at the National Level.

The list of Silver Beaver honorees for the Indian Waters Council (and formerly Central South Carolina Council) and the Pee Dee Area Council is found HERE.

Silver Antelope

The Silver Antelope Award is a distinguished service award presented by the Boy Scouts of America for outstanding service to young people. From 1942 to 2021 it recognized service within one of the geographical regions of the BSA. Beginning in 2022, with a reorganization of the BSA, it is presented for service in a Council Service Territory (from 2022-2023 National Service Territory.)

Recipients may be nominated and selected for their efforts in the council service territory and/or for service to the council service territory through various national committees.

The award is made by the National Court of Honor and the recipient must be a registered adult member of the Boy Scouts of America.

Indian Waters Council

  • Frank Needham, 1955
  • Robert Kapp, 1963
  • Harry Marsh, 1975
  • George Fant, 1984
  • Francis Herndon, 1996
  • Brad Hutto, 2019
  • Tripp Clark, 2023
  • Stan Haines, 2024

Pee Dee Area Council

  • John Martin, 1948
  • James Copenhaver, 1959
  • John Holliday, 1968

Silver Buffalo

The Silver Buffalo Award is the national-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. It is presented for noteworthy and extraordinary service to youth on a national basis, either as part of, or independent of the Scouting program. The award is made by the National Court of Honor and the recipient need not be a registered member of the BSA.

Indian Waters Council

  • Larry Green, 2023